Go Back   STEELBEASTS.COM FORUM > Steel Beasts Discussion Forums > SB Pro PE Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2006, 01:07 AM
delaney's Avatar
delaney delaney is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 571
Critical If your dongle is not working, please read this

If you have Norton Internet Security, please disable it and see if that fixes the problem. (Norton Internet Security seems to block communication to a port that the CM stick uses.) If that fixes the problem, then you need to add the CodeMeter Runtime Server program to the list of programs that the Nortorn Firewall will permit to run. (I'm not certain about this last part, but there should be a way to let Norton Internet Security allow the CM stick to access the port.)

If turning off your anti-virus/Internet Security program does not work, then it's possible (although very rare) that the license is not in the stick. To check this, first, start the CodeMeter Runtime Server with dongle in the USB port. (Start | All Programs | CodeMeter | CodeMeter Runtime Server).

Next start the CodeMeter Web admin program. (Start | All Programs | CodeMeter | CodeMeter Web Administration)

Then click on the Contents button. Next click on Licenses. Now, do you see a license listed for eSim Games? (It should have a firm code of 100146.) If so, and if you click on that firm code number, it will list the product codes. Do you see product code 11051?


If you don't see these things, then please do the following:
  • First ensure that the CodeMeter runtime server is running with dongle in the USB port: Click Start | All Programs | CodeMeter | CodeMeter Runtime Server (either application or service).
  • Right click on desktop and select "New | Wibu Control File."
  • Click on Create.
  • In next dialog box, check the "New Firm Code" box and enter firm code "100146".
  • Click on OK, and the control file will be created on the desktop.
  • Send the file to comments@esimgames.com, along with your Order ID (which was sent in your confirmation email).
  • eSim Games will send back another file.
  • Right click on this new file and select "Update CM-Stick." The CM Stick should now be updated.


Also you may want to upgrade your CodeMeter firmware. Please read this thread to learn more about your options.


Should you be using a 64 bit Vista version, you need the 64 bit CodeMeter runtime software. Download it directly from www.CodeMeter.com


Another popular source of trouble is the Data Execution Prevention.
Right-click "My Computer" and select System Properties.
In the following window, go to the Advanced tab.
Click on Settings of the first item, System Performance
This opens a new window. Now pick the third tab, Data Execution Prevention.
See if it is switched off, or enabled. If enabled, you may want to whitelist the Steel Beasts executable as well as the CodeMeter executable.


CodeMeter technical support also recommends to explicitly install the CodeMeter runtime with administrator privileges. To do so, hold the Shift key and right-click the setup executable, then pick from the context menu "Run as Administratror".
Also, please make sure to uninstall previous CodeMeter runtime versions.

Last edited by Ssnake; 08-30-2010 at 11:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2006, 02:37 PM
shshsh's Avatar
shshsh shshsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Posts: 83
RE: Oil up tp $75 a barrel

I also found out the hard way last weekend that USB extension cables can make a real difference.

Plugging my dongle into such an USB extension cable gave me constant "ding" (USB device recognized by Windows) and "dong" (received USB device disconnect event) events - the dongle was visible for some seconds, then it was gone for some seconds, etc.; sometimes it would stabilize, sometimes it wouldn't.

I've been using that very same USB extension cable for my USB stick, my external USB hard disk, my digicam, my USB multi-card reader, my USB MP3 player without problems since over one year, so the cable was the last thing I suspected.

Yet my SB Pro PE dongle was recognized rock-solid when I plugged it directly into a USB port in my computer's case (had to crawl under the desk for that, that's why I have that extension cable) and even when I plugged it into a somewhat more expensive USB extension cable with shielding (that wire mesh stuff around the cable - you can sometimes see it with transparent cable isolations).

Bottom line: If your dongle is flaky using a USB extension cable, try plugging it into the USB port in your computer's case directly. It might help.
__________________
Stefan Hundhammer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2006, 04:20 PM
delaney's Avatar
delaney delaney is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 571
Was it the same port that the cable was plugged into? If not, it could be that one port is different than the other.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:54 PM
shshsh's Avatar
shshsh shshsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Posts: 83
I'll check that when I next get to that machine (next weekend).
__________________
Stefan Hundhammer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:48 PM
delaney's Avatar
delaney delaney is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 571
We wrote to WiBu about this, and they would like to get some information from the CM Stick:

Quote:
Could you please get me a CmDust-Result.log? If you never have created a CmDust.log please do the following:
  1. Download CmDust
  2. Plug in your CM-Stick(s).
  3. Start the program simply by doubleclick. A console window opens and disappears after a few seconds.
  4. Now you find the results of the analysis in the file "CmDust-Result.log". You can open this file with a normal text editor (e.g. notepad) to see what we have collected.
  5. Please send the file "CmDust-Result.log" to us via e-mail.
Edited for better looks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2006, 10:43 AM
shshsh's Avatar
shshsh shshsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Posts: 83
OK, will do.

BTW it's a hardware problem, not a windows problem. The dongle showed the same behaviour under Linux - I got lots of "connected" and "disconnected" messages there, too (in /var/log/messages).
__________________
Stefan Hundhammer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2006, 02:20 PM
shshsh's Avatar
shshsh shshsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Posts: 83
OK, here are the logs:

http://www.suse.de/~sh/codemeter/CmDust-Logs.zip

Sorry for the delay. It's been really busy around here.
__________________
Stefan Hundhammer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-2006, 02:27 PM
shshsh's Avatar
shshsh shshsh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by delaney
Was it the same port that the cable was plugged into? If not, it could be that one port is different than the other.
I checked all USB ports on that machine. The behaviour was consistent with all of them: Dongle directly on the USB port without any extension cable works fine. Dongle on the shielded extension cable works fine. Dongle on either of the two other cables results in that flaky on-off behaviour.

In the meantime, somebody told me that those extension cables might be out of spec - too long for what the USB standard specifies. One way or the other, all other USB hardware I own works nicely with either of them - on three different computers.

Nevermind, one approach that works is good enough for me, and I have that now.
__________________
Stefan Hundhammer
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2006, 12:47 AM
Hackworth's Avatar
Hackworth Hackworth is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,813
Message sent. I can't get any of the fixes here to work. I sent a log file. It appears my dongle is erased or something. XP won't recognize it anymore, says, "USB mass storage device not recognized...may be malfunctioning..." Tried other ports, front and back of puter and other devices to ensure the ports were working properly and they are. I included more details in my email. Thanks.
__________________
I'm Katie's entertainment.

Purest
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2006, 02:18 AM
HAVOC131's Avatar
HAVOC131 HAVOC131 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 74
Most importantly remember to keep your Dongle clean and always put your Dongle in the right hole...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codemeter, dongle, wibu


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 PM.