Skirtless Centurion MK 5/1

norrin

This is my first attempt at making a Centurion MK 5/1 with the side skirts removed as used by the Australian forces in Vietnam. So far I've got the skirts off and removed the associated decals but I was wondering if anyone knew how to fix the transparency/alpha issues related to the vertical guide horns on the tank's tracks?

cent_viet.thumb.jpg.2a866210ab925bad64d6d4722b1070a8.jpg

Edited by norrin

36 minutes ago, RENEGADE-623 said:

is that what we  refer to as return rollers?

Oops, to be honest I hadn't even noticed they were missing. :$ I was actually referring to the teeth that run down the centre of the inside of the tracks - not entirely sure what the technical name is. If you look at the picture you can see that each tooth is outlined by a small transparent region.

In regards to the missing return rollers you've given me an idea, I may be able to paint/skin them onto the relevant texture regions I have deleted to remove the skirts. I've got no idea how that will look though as they will not be 3D objects so they will look good from directly side-on but may look at little strange at other angles.  I'll also have to remove the front lights and try and to reshape the canvas mantlet cover so it looks more like the following photo.

Australian_War_Memorial_Centurion.thumb.jpg.001f1805f7daee1d3ce782ada9b5c82d.jpg

10 minutes ago, Ssnake said:

Cosmetics aside...

I think you may have hit the nail on the head as my wife is forever telling me that I'm superficial.

@TSe419e - thank you for the information.

@Gibsonm - I've been reading about the Battle for Balmoral and Coral recently in particular the role played by the Centurions in this battle and I wanted to make a scenario roughly based on the forces present. I understand that there are many shortcomings in the approach I'm taking but it is the best that I can do with the resources at hand.  

1 hour ago, norrin said: