Tank platoon

apelles

I read somewhere: the 3 tank platoon is better than 4 tank platoon. I'm not a tactic expert, but just starting from the rotte und schwarm or buddy team thing, i don't really see the point of the 3 tank/ platoon method.

Could someone explain this for me?

• Members

Aside from the fact that the Bundeswehr experimented with this concept in the late 1990s (and ultimately rejected it), the basic argument is that it allows the company commander to build a local reserve since he can deploy three platoons and retain the fourth for whatever may come. With three platoons of four vehicles, this is not possible. On the upside, each platoon is stronger and you have two sections to support reach other (e.g. if you need to move in bounds due to limited maneuver space).

Now I sure the hell ain't no expert... but while playing SB Pro PE platoon missions, both with a 3 and 4 tank platoon, I must insist as commander on a 4 tank platoon, if for nothing else, dividing the unit and using them to support each other, suppress and flank.. IE: a crappy example of my game play using a platoon, made for a non-gamer friend trying to get him into SB Pro PE, he was a tanker for 10 years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztDukB8hKug

I just don't feel comfortable splitting a 3 tank platoon.

Now I sure the hell ain't no expert... but while playing SB Pro PE platoon missions, both with a 3 and 4 tank platoon, I must insist as commander on a 4 tank platoon, if for nothing else, dividing the unit and using them to support each other, suppress and flank.. IE: a crappy example of my game play using a platoon, made for a non-gamer friend trying to get him into SB Pro PE, he was a tanker for 10 years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztDukB8hKug

I just don't feel comfortable splitting a 3 tank platoon.